10 Minutes in E.R

There  is never a minute that is the same in an emergency room. We go from  zero to ten in less than a few seconds, and suddenly back to zero again.   Trauma, and tragedy, heartbreaking and  heartwarming stories, all  encapsulate the human condition in a single place and time. This story  is but 10  minutes in my E.R department. It is a story that repeats itself several times a  day, everyday.

Personal details has been altered to  protect patient privacy

‘RED ROMEO 9, 5  MINUTES, RED ROMEO 9’ boomed the overhead  speaker through the  emergency department, quickly followed by ‘CODE BLUE EMERGENCY,  CODE BLUE EMERGENCY’ throughout the entire hospital. My mind  snapped to military attention.

Not now, no!

Somewhere in  the city, an ambulance was nearly breaking every law in it’s screaming  effort to reach the hospital where I worked.

At the moment   of the  call my attention had been with another patient. My heart  melted looking  into the pleasantly demented, clouded eyes of the frail  old man, laying in his bed in front of me.

Be calm,  smile. Just smile.

He had to go to the bathroom and I had the  urinal, but we couldn’t  agree on where to place it. Not there! Not  there either! Almost!!! Please hurry. I HAD to get to the  Resuscitation Room. My brain was beginning to split from the sudden  adrenalin uptake brought on by a Code Blue call, controlled emotion, and  an idiotic desperation in helping this gentleman find his…..well, you  know. Seconds on a clock wait for none. I decided entertainment has many  faces and with a silent promise to return, handed him the urine bottle  to figure out. Other eye’s would  monitor his trials.

My timing, again, was uncannily perfect as I reached the doors of the Resus  room and  was  caught in the surge of paramedics and firemen as they slammed the gurney  through the battered  doors.  There seemed to be too many of them.  Big  guys, all sweating profusely.  I mean I know it’s a crazy job…oh,  here we go‘STORY‘ yells the doctor.

At that moment, I’m   face to face with a fireman over the patient. He’s doing CPR and about  to hand off for me to continue.  The synchronization must be perfect.  Watch his hands, it’s her life, it’s her heart, I’m on her, LET”S  GO!!!!!‘….female, 42, collapsed at a party, unable to rouse,  911 called.…carried down 4 flights of narrow stairs tied to the  backboard while continuing CPR .…350 to 400 pounds…’….last name…..down  about 20 minutes….’

Her ribcage jumps after each violent  compression. SNAP! I’ve broken her rib.  Keep going.  A  hundred thrusts a minute. An eternity behind me. An eternity before me.  My job, at least twice a day

‘Cease Compressions’

The room  freezes. A movie on pause. Twenty pairs of eyes turn to the heart  monitor watching the unsure lines of her heartbeat ease gradually to a  flat line. I put my fingers to her throat and press for a pulse, the  doctor doing the same to the carotid  artery in her pelvic area. No  compressions, no heartbeat.

I want to throw up from the adrenalin  surge.

The woman’s face is turned toward me, her sightless eyes open  and staring in my direction.

Penny’s please, anyone.

The  doctor wants confirmation. He’s watching me, waiting for the unspoken  acknowledgment.  A hated moment, indecisive, unsure, could we do more? She’s too young. It’s not my call. I remove my hand from her  throat and say nothing, not a nod, not a glance, not a word.

He nods  his head. Unspoken acknowledgement.

‘Is everyone okay if we call it?’

A  shard of respect.

The room gradually empties. Brows are wiped,  jokes tossed through the air like homeless balloons. I’m holding her  eyes shut. I wonder how my other patient is doing?

Why are the  police here? Oh, Suspicious Death.

Down down down, I go,  standing on the abyss. I glanced at the clock. 10 minutes had passed.

Unwinding,  but never all the way.

2 thoughts on “10 Minutes in E.R

  1. I worked in hospital and cardiology offices for 34 years, including 7 years in the ER as an EMT. Like you, there is nothing i have not seen or dealt with. We are a special breed. It is hard to do and keep one’s balance and not become too cynical or an alcoholic. Thankfully i am out of that field, but feel that is where i did the most good in this world. Someone’s gotta do it.

  2. I appreciate your comment! I found at times, as I’m sure you did, that the ‘dark humor’ known and heard only between co-workers when the ‘worst of the worst’ was happening, eased the pressure of the situation sometimes..

Leave a comment